VALENTINE’$ DAY

HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY 2013
HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY 2013

Valentine’s Day.  Ah yes, yet another greeting card/candy/floral industry fabricated holiday to accompany such memorable occasions as Grandparents Day, St. Patrick’s day and, let’s not forget Groundhog day!  I know, I know, we don’t send cards to each other or buy chocolate groundhogs to hand out as gifts to one another, so I won’t blame that one on Hallmark or Russell Stover! 

According to my favorite anonymous source, there really was a guy named Valentinus who was arrested by the Romans because he was performing weddings for soldiers and ministering to the Christians both of  which at the time were against Roman law.  Apparently the first “Valentine” was his farewell note to a young lady he was said to have healed of a sickness while he was in prison.  It was appropriately signed “from your Valentine. “

Oddly enough, it’s not just a memorable day in the west, but also in Scandinavia and Asia.  That’s right my fellow American males, we’re not the only ones responsible for shoring up the economy just after the Christmas madness and wreaking havoc in our “Romantic” relationships!

Since both Christmas and Mardi Gras are behind us, I thought it appropriate to recognize the day that “is considered by some to be a Hallmark holiday (NOT MY WORDS FOLKS) due to its commercialization.”  Note the last word in that last sentence!  So in honor of all our capitalist cronies, I thought that I would list some of the worst Valentine’s Day (which by the way this year falls on February 14th) gifts and ideas that I could muster up!  Enjoy.

WARNING: MINE FIELD AHEAD!
WARNING: MINE FIELD AHEAD!

MY LIST OF TEN WORST VALENTINE’S DAY GIFTS AND IDEAS

10.  A Valentine’s Day card to your boyfriend with the following verse:

“Thank you for the fun I had, now you’re going to be a Dad!”

9.  An item of sexy lingerie, size 12 when you know for a fact that she is a size 6.

8. Making a “FaceTime” cellphone call on Valentine’s Day from inside “The Velvet Bunny” gentlemen’s club telling her that you are going to be late for her party.

7.  Giving her a Shotgun.

6.  Forgetting that tomorrow is Valentine’s Day and having to make up some lame excuse to run out of the house at the last minute to pay an exorbitant, obscene amount of cash for picked over candy and a card.

5.  Asking her to lend you some money while you run into the florist for a minute . . . on February 14th.

4.  Putting the wrong name with the wrong address on your two girlfriend’s Valentine’s Day cards.

3.  Having a woman who can cook, make mad passionate love, use a chainsaw and drink you under the table and running into all four at the same lounge at the same time on Valentine’s Day.

2. Sending her a four-foot high Teddy Bear (unless it is holding a small box containing no less than a five carat diamond ring).

AND THE NUMBER ONE REALLY, REALLY STUPID MOVE . . .

1. Chocolate . . . in any form!  She may be a “chocaholic”, but you won’t have to feel responsible when she asks  you to answer the question “Honey, do these jeans make me look fat?”

Well, there you have it.  My spin on St. Valentine’s day.  I hope your’s is everything you hoped it would be.  Thanks, as always, for stopping by cONTEMPORARY mUSINGS and I hope that if you liked what you saw, you’ll tell a friend.  If you didn’t, call my customer service hot line at 1-800-555-tufluck.  They’ll send you to Helen Waite, so go to Helen Waite.  Either way, Happy Valentine’s Day.

**************************

2012 AWARDS

AWSOME AT AWARDING AWARDS AWARD
AWSOME AT AWARDING AWARDS AWARD
cONTEMPORARY mUSINGS 2012 BLOGGING AWARDS
cONTEMPORARY mUSINGS 2012 BLOGGING AWARDS

***************************

LEGAL STUFF: THOU SHALT NOT STEAL! All original written material or original graphics are my property (unless otherwise noted), can only be used or reproduced with my written permission and must contain a link or reference to https://contemporarymusings.wordpress.com when use is permitted. ALL LINKS REFERENCED ON cONTEMPORARY mUSINGS ARE UNSOLICITED AND THE AUTHOR OF THIS BLOG IS NOT COMPENSATED IN ANY FORM, MONETARILY OR OTHERWISE FOR INCLUDING THEM IN ANY POST.

4 thoughts on “VALENTINE’$ DAY

  1. I like the Helen Waite thing…do I need permissions to use that one? lol Good post. I always make sure to tell people that Valentine’s day was being celebrated before the printing press was invented when they spew the Hallmark nonsense. Happy Valentine’s Day!

    1. I didn’t coin the Helen thing, so I guess it’s ok. But first you have to go to Helen Wa . . . Yeah. Go ahead and use it! Thanks for stopping by and ya’ll do come back and see us again!

  2. What a great post! Obviously, I’m behind in everything, but that’s ok. Good humor is good humor, and a little enjoyment three days later is fine by me.

    One of the things I loved most in grade school was making valentines. We used red construction paper, those little paper doilies – stuff like that. And I still remember the first “candy heart” I got – it was pink with silver ribbon, and Tim Kling gave it to me in ….. 5th grade, I think. We was a tragic romance, truly – he drowned the next summer, swimming in a lake. It was terrible. But my goodness – those memories stay.

    Hope your Valentine’s day was great!

    1. Don’t feel bad about a late reply. I just got a Valentine card from my airline today it was okay. It had a very useful gift in it (at least that’s what they said!). Our Valentine’s day was great, thank you. J.

Leave a Reply

