PROCRASTINATION . . . AND OTHER THINGS WORTH PUTTING OFF UNTIL TOMORROW

PROCRASTINATE . . . IT WILL GIVE YOU SOMETHING TO DO TOMORROW

PROCRASTINATE . . . IT’LL GIVE YOU SOMETHING TO DO TOMORROW

In the mid ’90s I read an article in the “Not Fit For The Bottom Of The Birdcage” section in my local newspaper, “The Daily Fish Wrap” regarding that year’s annual 4th of July picnic of the Procrastinator’s Club of America.  I immediately put the article away and made my reservations   . . . in 2008.  I wanted to make sure that I had a place on the guest list for myself and my guests.  I pride myself on promptness.  I mean I could have waited until the last-minute, but I let discretion be the better part of valor, or something of that nature.  Much to my dismay I later found out after responding to the picnic RSVP that it was postponed two years later.

I mean this is the organization that in 1966 protested the War of 1812 and showed up in the 1980’s to see the Romans and the Christians do battle.

PROCRASTINATION’S BENEFITS

There’s a lot to be said for waiting ’til the last-minute.  I mean look at it like this, I didn’t have to go to the store and get all the makings for a picnic basket!  Brilliant, huh?  Besides, it is held in January each year, not a good month for picnics.  But picnics are not my only forte.  I procrastinate with a lot of other stuff also.  Like putting out the garbage.  If it is not smelling up the house, why should I go outside after dark when I can wait until I hear the whine of the garbage truck’s hydraulic system the next morning.

GOT MILK?

In buying groceries I use the same thought pattern.  It’s more fun having to run out to the store to buy a half-gallon of milk at 6:30 AM for my breakfast cereal than planning ahead three days in advance.  It doesn’t matter that I have cereal for breakfast every morning.  I don’t know, that’s just my nature.  I was born that way.  Perhaps my mother’s due date came and went and I chose my own to make my debut.

My wife on the other hand is a “Do It Right Awayer” kind of person.  She stands over the garbage can while she is opening and sorting the mail, rumpling and pitching the unwanted stuff away immediately.  Doesn’t she know that she might want to revisit some of it for some reason or another at some future date?  I mean, you never know!  Right?  That’s all I’m saying.

REASONS FOR PROCRASTINATION

As always, I did extensive research for this posting and came up with some astonishing findings and here they are:

1.  Avoiding unpleasant tasks.  Duh!  That’s a reason?  That’s just plain good old common sense.  Have you ever heard anyone say “I just can’t wait to get to the dentist’s office to have that root canal he wants to do on me.”

2.  Self doubt and lack of confidence. I doubt that.  I’m just not comfortable with that explanation and just want to go to the next one.

3.  Life is too short to be doing something that is not fun.  I’ll drink to that!  Cutting the grass is not my idea of a pleasurable experience.  Besides, it will still be there tomorrow.  And, if you break down the root of the word you will find that it is a combination of two Latin words, Pro and Cras.  “Pro” meaning forward and “Cras” meaning tomorrow.  I guess that means I’m “ahead” of my time!  Get it?  Ahead of my . . . I guess not, forget it.

4.  It’s not important.  Importance can be a relative term.  Just like the word, success, is relative.  The more successful you are, the more relatives show up at your front door (I couldn’t resist that one).  If you spill milk on the counter and it hasn’t started to go sour yet, what’s the rush to wipe it up?  But, if you drink it straight out of the carton and it’s sour, well, that’s important enough to get rid of it immediately.

5.  Deadlines.  Having to do something usually entails a “deadline.”  Who wants to be a part of something with the word “DEAD” in it. OOOOOHHHHHHHHH!!!!! It just gives me the willys thinking about it.

6.  I don’t know. I don’t know and I don’t care.  Wait, that’s Apathy, wrong subject.

ADMITTING THAT YOU HAVE A PROBLEM

Who said anything about procrastination being a problem?  Really.  I once thought about procrastinating, but I never got around to it.  No problem.

Some therapists seem to think that those of us with the “problem” are sickos just trying to avoid responsibility.  To that I say a hale and hearty “Ehhh, you’re probably half right!”  I once had a job where if something sat on my desk long enough without my attention because I didn’t want to deal with it, it usually went away!  I avoided responsibility and it went POOF! all by itself.  I didn’t see a problem.

WELL, IT’S TIME TO PROCRASTINATE

I just realized that it’s time to make reservations for last year’s Christmas party.  It’s held every June.  I’ll get around to it sooner or later.  I’d tell you how to get in touch with the PCA so that you could think about joining, but I couldn’t find an address for them on the web.  Probably they are putting off getting a mailbox until tomorrow.  Well, they seem to live up to their motto: “If something’s worth doing, it’s worth doing later.”  Makes perfect sense to me.

**********************************

AWESOME AT AWARDING AWARDS, AWARD

****************************

***********************************************

LEGAL STUFF: THOU SHALT NOT STEAL! All original written material or original graphics are my property (unless otherwise noted), can only be used or reproduced with my written permission and must contain a link or reference to https://contemporarymusings.wordpress.com when use is permitted. ALL LINKS REFERENCED ON cONTEMPORARY mUSINGS ARE UNSOLICITED AND THE AUTHOR OF THIS BLOG IS NOT COMPENSATED IN ANY FORM, MONETARILY OR OTHERWISE.

2 thoughts on “PROCRASTINATION . . . AND OTHER THINGS WORTH PUTTING OFF UNTIL TOMORROW

  1. This is a perfect Monday morning post. Every Monday I’m tempted to really get organized, get after it, get going and tackle that to-do list.

    You’ve shown me the error of my ways. I’m going to have another cup of coffee and dally. Shilly-shally. Mess around.

    Well, at least for twenty more minutes! Great post!

Leave a Reply

