SPORTFISHING IN JULY

I had to smudge the faces of my two fishing companions at their request. Both Vinnie the “Snitch” on the left and Knuckles Vincenzo in the middle can be very persuasive at times. Me, on the right, I just had a lot of sun screen on my face. And the fish, why not?

Well, it’s been a while since my last post but it’s not because I didn’t have anything to say . . . it’s because . . .  well, I didn’t have anything worthwhile to say.  Alright, who’s the wisenheimer in the back who said “Since when did he ever?”  Actually I was in south Florida fishing for swordfish.  The picture above is the result of one of our trips.

I had a great time, except for the first day when I saw breakfast again at about lunch time.  Twenty foot seas can do that to a man! The next three days I loaded up on Dramamine and I had no problems.

THE THRILL OF THE HUNT

It was the second time I had gone in pursuit of these denizens of the deep and was prepared for the tedious job of waiting.  Depending on conditions and the ones that get away with your bait, it can take quite a long time to catch one.  We were fishing in about 1/4 mile of water with anywhere between 10 and 16 pounds of lead and fresh fish bait on one end of the electric fishing rod and reel.  According to Vinnie you have to watch the end of the rod for any slight movement out of the ordinary.  That’s kind of hard to do because we were angling in choppy waters with a seven to ten mph breeze and an underwater current far below the bottom of the boat.  But if anybody knows about deep water activities with lead weights, it’s Vinnie so I didn’t question him!

I know you ladies out there can’t understand why we would put ourselves through such an ordeal, but we guys can’t understand why you go shopping so much.  Unless your shopping has something to do with the “Thrill” of the hunt, then maybe we can relate.

THERE IS A PORPOISE

In addition to the excitement of fighting a fellow the size of the one above for about 40 minutes (unfortunately we didn’t have an opportunity to weigh him so we estimated between 175 and 200 lbs) they are excellent fare for the discriminating connoisseur.  Plus, on a good day, the flesh can bring about $6 to $7 a pound wholesale.

The following day both Vinnie, his son Vinnie the “Snitch Jr.” and Knuckles landed one that weighed in at 394 lbs. on the hoof.  Of course I was on my way home while they were high fiving over that one.

THERE’S ALWAYS NEXT TIME

There’s always next time.  As the saying goes “there’s lots of other fish in the sea.”  They also say “A rolling stone gathers no moss.” and “A penny saved is a penny earned.”, but I never did believe them!

Thanks for stopping by and I hope everyone had a safe and Happy 4th of July.

**************************************************

COMING SOON ANOTHER EDITION OF THE STYCKZ FAMILY.

NOTE: THE NAMES OF ALL INVOLVED WERE CHANGED, NOT SO MUCH TO PROTECT THE INNOCENT, BUT BECAUSE I DIDN’T KNOW WHAT THEY WERE. PLUS, I BELIEVE THAT THEY BOTH ARE IN THE WITNESS PROTECTION PROGRAM.

SERIOUSLY, THANKS TO MY HOSTS BRYCE AND MATT. I HAD A GREAT TIME.

LEGAL STUFF: All original written material or original graphics are my property (unless otherwise noted), can only be used or reproduced with my written permission and must contain a link or reference to https://contemporarymusings.wordpress.com when use is permitted. ALL LINKS REFERENCED ON cONTEMPORARY mUSINGS ARE UNSOLICITED AND THE AUTHOR OF THIS BLOG IS NOT COMPENSATED IN ANY FORM, MONETARILY OR OTHERWISE.*****

2 thoughts on “SPORTFISHING IN JULY

  1. What a great trip! A friend just went up to Homer, Alaska to go halibut fishing, and she was afraid she was going to go in before it was all over. I’m happy to eat it, but I’m not so keen on the work of catching it. I do listen to the outdoor show on Houston radio on the weekends when I’m up really early. It’s amazing to me how much there is to learn about techniques, baits, etc.

    Glad you had a good time – and that’s one fine fish!

Leave a Reply

