BYPASS SURGERY . . . NO LAUGHING MATTER PART 2 “THE COLD FUZZIES”

Several weeks ago I posted a short blurb regarding my latest “NDE” (Near Death Experience).  Well, it wasn’t that dramatic, but just think about it.  You are laying there on a surgical table, your chest opened up, and a masked man holding your heart in his hand.  If nothing else it is scarey as hell to think about!

Needless to say I survived and am recuperating nicely from a double bypass.  In November of 2008 I was experiencing strange sensations in both arms and went to see my cardiologist.  He scheduled an angiogram and literaly whisked me off that table, into an ambulance and on to the hospital where about three hours later I was lying on the first surgical table of my two experiences.  A quadruple bypass.  That time there were indications that something was wrong.

This second time however, there were no symptoms, no strange sensations, no angina.  Just the results of an annual nuclear stress test that showed an abnormality.  I was sure I would walk out of this angiogramatic (is there such a word?) experience and go home.  No such luck.  At least this time they let my wife drive me to the hospital where I was immediately admitted where we discussed the options: a stent or bypass surgery.  A stent was a possiblity, but I was told that there would be an operating room on standby in the event something went wrong with the stent insertion.  Talk about a “cold fuzzy”.

Since I had been through the procedure once before, it was not as scary a feeling as one would think and my cardiologist explained that the stent to be used had not been out on the market very long, and that my body might reject it. Let’s see, operating room on standby, new unproven technology, body     rejection . . . I opted for the whole nine yards.

Five days later (we had to wait for the surgeon of my choosing to have a free morning) I was prepped and wheeled down to the OR where they pumped me full of “happy” juice.  I asked if they had that stuff in a six pack to go.  “No” they replied, “it’s only available on tap here in the lounge”.

Fortunately I have a great, loving, family and was surrounded by as many as we could possibly fit in the hospital room at one time.  Kind of like the ’50’s and college students in a phone booth.  For you younger folks, ask your grandparents about the ’50’s and phone booths.  They weren’t just for Superman to change into his tights.

Ten days after my release from the hospital I was re-admitted for another four days to drain off fluid that wasn’t quite taken care of after my surgery.  I’m home now and on the mend.  No more follow up doctor’s visits or CT scans, just lying around like a bump on a log.  Bumps on logs do not have exciting lives, let me tell you.

Hopefully this is the last time that I have to go through this ordeal.  It has to be, I have no more spare arteries in my body.  So for all of you folks out there looking forward to bypass surgery (I can’t imagine there are too many people who would be, but you never know) I say go for it.  You only go ’round once, or as in my case twice.  Besides, when you’ve come out of the OR and your vital signs are okay, your family will be so thankful, they will give you anything you want!

LEGAL STUFF:  All original written material or original graphics are my property (unless otherwise noted), can only be used or reproduced with my written permission and must contain a link or reference to https://contemporarymusings.wordpress.com  when use is permitted. ALL LINKS REFERENCED ON cONTEMPORARY mUSINGS  ARE UNSOLICITED AND THE AUTHOR OF THIS BLOG IS NOT COMPENSATED IN ANY FORM, MONETARILY OR OTHERWISE.

Heart picture downloaded from: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/

One thought on “BYPASS SURGERY . . . NO LAUGHING MATTER PART 2 “THE COLD FUZZIES”

Leave a Reply

